Building KU's Teaching and Learning Community

Teaching Slam Proposals

Instructors in all disciplines are welcome to submit proposals. Presentations will be grouped into one of three sub-areas: STEM; humanities and arts; and social sciences, journalism, business, psychology, and education. Each of the sub-areas will meet for its own Teaching Slam. This will allow for the sharing of ideas with colleagues who are most likely to be able to use your great ideas.

Deadline for proposals is noon Friday, March 4. We’ll choose the best variety for presentation and let everyone know the results by early the following week. The Teaching Slams will take place from 2 to 3:30 p.m. on Friday, March 25 at The Commons, LEEP2 (School of Engineering), and at the Center for Teaching Excellence. 


Please choose the student level, class level, and class size that best describe your proposed focus course.
Please note: We’ll have room for only a small number of Class Demos, so your chances for selection are greater with a Six + Six.
Max. 400 characters

News & Notes

Spring 2021: Revolutionizing Academia: Engaging Anti-Racism and Restructuring Curricular Practices Workshop now has openings in a new Wednesday series.

Please contact Judy Eddy at jeddy@ku.edu if you'd like to register. 

  • Wednesday, 2/17/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Deconstructing Racism and Colonialism in the Classroom
  • Wednesday, 3/10/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Engaging Anti-Racism and Resisting Colonial Curricular Practices
  • Wednesday, 4/14/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Disrupting Systems in Academia 

Friday workshops are now full. Please contact Judy Eddy at jeddy@ku.edu if you'd like to be put on a waitlist. 

  • Friday, 2/12/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Deconstructing Racism and Colonialism in the Classroom
  • Friday, 3/05/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Engaging Anti-Racism and Resisting Colonial Curricular Practices
  • Friday, 4/02/21 @ 2:00pm-3:30pm: Disrupting Systems in Academia 

Spring 2021: Join our CTE Learning Community: Teaching at a Predominantly White Institution (PWI) on Zoom

  • Thursday, 2/11/21 @ 11:00am-11:55am: The Importance of Language:  What Instructors Want to Be Called
  • Monday, 2/22/21 @ 2:00pm-2:55pm: Band-aids v. Sustainable Change on Campus
  • Thursday, 3/11/21 @ 11:00am-11:55am: Getting Caught Off Guard and Confronting Students’ “-isms”
  • Monday, 3/22/21 @ 2:00pm-2:55pm: Topic to be decided by learning community
  • Thursday, 4/8/21 @ 11:00am-11:55am: Topic to be decided by learning community
  • Monday, 4/19/21 @ 2:00pm-2:55pm: Topic to be decided by learning community
 

See how CTE is leading the shift to flexible teaching at KU.

Visit the Flex Teaching sitewhich provides help for creating flexible courses that can shift between in-person and online.